Surprises and Goodbyes

A few weeks ago I got a text from an unknown number that read “Hey Emily, what are your plans for the weekend?” so knowing that it had to be someone I knew (because a] it was in English and b] they knew it was my number) I replied asking who it was. At which point I was told that it was a surprise and I would find out if I went to Perry’s our regular bar at 10pm that night. Now as children we are taught never to agree to this kind of thing but again I knew it had to be one of my friends so I agreed. Additionally the second text had provided me with 2 clues as to the persons identity however the answer they were leading me to seemed impossible since that person was not longer living in Shanghai. I spent the next few hours flip flopping from trusting my instincts to doubting them, and trying not to get my hopes up too high in case I was wrong. In the end the beans were spilled before we reached the bar that night. I went to a friend’s house party with Katharina first and there we met up with our friend Heather who didn’t realize that we were still unaware of the mystery texter’s identity and she told us that our friend Anna was back in Shanghai. Which is who I had suspected it to be proving that I am a regular Sherlock Holmes, or she just gave me lots of easy clues. Anyways we left the party and went to another friends place where we were reunited with Anna and it was lovely! She came for 2 weeks for a holiday. Luckily my job doesn’t have the same hours as most and I was able to spend lots of time with her in the evenings and on weekends. But all too soon her time in Shanghai was up and most unfortunately it coincided with the departure of another good friend. My friend Glen was offered a great job opportunity in Singapore so he took it and moved there last week. So needless to say it was sad to say goodbye to two friends in the same week but I’m very happy for the time we spent together and I know I’ll see them both at some point in the future.

With all that going on plus work, March has just flown by! Spring is here in Shanghai, the weather is warming up and the rain is plentiful. We are back in the swing of things at work and it’s hard to believe there are only 3 months left of school. I am still enjoying teaching and the kids are great. I’ve had some very good feedback from my teachers and my Pacican evaluations, as well as seen a marked improvement in many of the kids which makes me feel good about what I’ve done here.

Katharina and Jacob and I are headed to Suzhou for the day on Sunday. It’s a city about a 30-minute train ride from Shanghai. And it is supposed to be very nice, so it should be fun.

I’ll post stories for the rest of my New Year’s adventures soon!

One thought on “Surprises and Goodbyes

Leave a Reply

